PDA

View Full Version : No one thinking of Timmins Future

cbspock
04-12-2002, 06:11 AM
Here is a letter from the Timmins Press.
http://www.timminspress.com/timminspress/NEWS/Letters.htm

No one is thinking about Timmins' future
I SIT HERE by my computer every morning, in my residence room at Nipissing University in North Bay and read the letters to the editor in the on-line version of The Daily Press.

I have noticed lately there are many regarding the new funding Timmins is getting from the government for the new health and social services facility and library.

Well, being a Porcupine resident, I am really happy Timmins is receiving such funding; however, I am not sure I agree with where it's going.

The thought of yet another library is quite depressing, especially after the city just closed the one in Schumacher, not so long ago.

My only concern is, what will happen to the ones that are already there?

Will they just become obsolete and turn into empty rooms (something the East End really does not need!)?

Is it possible for the current libraries to get an upgrade maybe? Or expand them?

If Internet or computer accessibility is a concern, why not just focus on creating a building in, or close to the current libraries.

I agree with Coun. John Curley in that having yet another library is a luxury.

Some of the city councillors and the mayor have to change their way of thinking.

In 20 years from now what is going to be left in Timmins? Not a whole heck of a lot.

I would love to come back to Timmins and raise a family, but I won't if there isn't anything to go back to!

The Dome and Kidd mines are NOT going to last forever and they are both coming to a close very soon.

What will create new jobs in Timmins?

One telecommunications centre? I don't think so.